Tanya Davies MP. Member for Mulgoa.

2013 Women of the Year Awards

Friday November 23, 2012

Tanya with Norma Thorburn, 2012 winner

Tanya with Norma Thorburn, 2012 winner

Member for Mulgoa, Tanya Davies MP is encouraging the local community to nominate women for the 2013 NSW Women of the Year Awards.

Mrs Davies met with Mrs Norma Thorburn from St Marys who won the Mulgoa Local Woman of the Year Award in 2012, to launch the award nominations for Mulgoa.

Mrs Davies said there are three categories that are open for nominations from the public:

  1. The Premier’s Woman of the Year Award, for leadership and excellence
  2. The People’s Choice Community Hero Award, for work performed in the service of the community and
  3. A new award category, the Male Champion of Change sponsored by Deloitte (open only to men).

“The opportunity to nominate women from within our local community allows us to recognise the important work being carried out by our local women,” Mrs Davies said.

“This year there is also a new category, the 'Male Champion of Change' award which recognises the role that men play in brokering change for women.

“If you know a woman or man who you think should be recognised for their leadership and contribution, please make a nomination,” she said

Mrs Davies said nominations for these three award categories are invited from individuals, groups or organisations from across the community.

“As the local Member for Mulgoa I will be nominating a woman from our community for a separate award category, the Local Woman of the Year Award.

“I am honoured to have the opportunity of nominating one woman from within the Mulgoa electorate. This person will receive an invitation to attend the awards ceremony at Parliament House with the Premier and will be featured in the 2013 Women of the Year Honour Roll.

Mrs Davies said with so many local people worthy of such an award, the choice will be a difficult one.

The winners in all four award categories will be announced at a reception hosted by the NSW Premier on Thursday 7 March 2013 at Parliament House, on the eve of International Women’s Day.

Nominations can be made now at:  www.women.nsw.gov.au.

Nominations close on Wednesday 5 December 2012.                      

Add a comment:

This will not be published.

Please enter the two words below: