Tanya Davies MP. Member for Mulgoa.


Monday June 5, 2017

Member for Mulgoa, Tanya Davies MP is calling on local individuals, schools, communities and businesses to apply now for the 2017 Resilient Australia Awards and NSW Get Ready Community Awards.

“I know our community is proactive, resilient and comes together in times of need and I encourage people to apply for this year’s awards,” Tanya Davies said.

 “The awards are about recognising the innovative practices and achievements that not only make our communities safer but also resilient enough to handle any emergency situation.

“So many people in the Mulgoa community dedicate their time to ensuring we’re prepared for natural disasters and I thank them for their selflessness and community spirit,” Tanya Davies said.

Now in their 18th year, the Resilient Australia Awards are open to individuals, not for profit organisations, small and large businesses, local and state governments, schools, education institutions, research bodies and emergency service agencies.

Established in 2015, the NSW Get Ready Award focuses on the collaborative efforts of an entire community that has worked together and taken action to plan and prepare for when disaster strikes.

Minister for Emergency Services Troy Grant said the NSW Government is looking to see examples of local communities joining forces to proactively build and strengthen resilience to natural disasters.

“While our emergency service agencies like the SES, RFS and FRNSW do remarkable work protecting and supporting communities in times of need, we all have a responsibility to think ahead, get ready and be as prepared as possible,” Mr Grant said.

“Both the Resilient Australia Awards and the NSW Get Ready Community Awards recognise communities proactively preparing for emergencies and building up resilience for times of need.”

Applications close on 30 June 2017. With this year’s winners announced at Parliament House in October 2017.

For more information on how to apply for both the Resilient Australia Awards and the Get Ready NSW Awards, go to: https://www.emergency.nsw.gov.au/emsector/awards/