Tanya Davies MP. Member for Mulgoa.

Gina Field chosen as Premierís 2013 NSW Woman of the Year finalist

Friday February 22, 2013

Local State MP's Tanya Davies and Stuart Ayres today congratulated a Gina Field as one of the six finalists for the Premier’s Award for Woman of the Year in the 2013 NSW Women of the Year Awards.

Mrs Davies said careful consideration went into selecting the finalists for the Premier’s Woman of the Year Award, which celebrates amazing women who inspire us with their achievements and contributions to NSW and beyond.

“This year more than 150 nominations were received for the Women of the Year Awards from across NSW, showcasing incredible women who have made a significant contribution to the NSW community, to Australia and internationally.

“The judging panel had some hard decisions to make with so many extraordinary women nominated but I’m pleased to announce local woman, Gina Field from Claremont Meadows, has progressed as a finalist in the Premier’s Award for Woman of the Year.

“Congratulations to Gina - this is an outstanding achievement.

Mr Ayres said Gina is a shining example of a woman determined to break down gender barriers and not only succeed but to become the best in a male-dominated industry.

"At just 19 she had her heart set on being a security guard- She was told not to bother because it wasn’t a job for a woman. This did not stop Gina, in 1998 she started Nepean Regional Security, now 15 years on, it is one of the most successful security companies in the state, with more than 40 employees and a fleet of cars deployed

“Gina is a remarkable woman and her story is inspiring."

“It was fascinating to find out about the ground-breaking work that she is doing,” said Mr Ayres.

Mrs Davies said Gina is a fantastic role model who is truly deserving of this recognition.

The winner of the Premier’s Award for Woman of the Year and the People’s Choice – Community Hero category will be announced by the Premier of NSW at a special reception at Parliament House on Thursday 7 March 2013.

Vote for the People’s Choice – Community Hero Award winner at  www.women.nsw.gov.au before midnight on 24 February 2013.

Add a comment:

This will not be published.

Please enter the two words below: