Tanya Davies MP. Member for Mulgoa.


Thursday May 15, 2014

 The Members for Penrith, Mulgoa and Londonderry - Stuart Ayres, Tanya Davies and Bart Bassett are encouraging local schools to nominate their best and brightest students and teachers for the Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Student Achievement and the Minister's Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Stuart Ayres MP, Member for Penrith said the awards acknowledge the outstanding work of senior students and teachers in NSW Public Schools.

“The Excellence in Student Achievement is a prestigious award for students in Year 12 who have demonstrated high academic achievement, leadership and commitment to the school and education community,” added Stuart Ayres.

Tanya Davies MP, Member for Mulgoa said past recipients of this award have displayed a variety of skills, interests and achievements and demonstrated values integral to public education such as integrity, respect, excellence, responsibility and participation.

“I look forward to meeting this year’s recipients and hearing about their dedication and commitment to learning and their local school communities,” added Ms Davies.

Minister for Education Adrian Piccoli said applications are now also open for the Minister’s Award for Excellence in Teaching which recognises the achievements of outstanding teachers in delivering high quality education to students and their contributions to their professional communities.

Bart Bassett MP, Member for Londonderry said the awards are open to teachers in preschools, primary, central and secondary schools or TAFE colleges and recognises outstanding teachers who engage their students, their colleagues, parents, and the school community,”

“Teachers have a powerful influence on their students’ learning and are the most important in-school factor in educational success.

“It is important to recognise these teachers and look at ways to share their success to improve teaching practices across the state.

“Both awards demonstrate the Government’s commitment to recognising excellence in our public schools and TAFE Institutes and I encourage people to nominate deserving individuals in our school system,” added Mr Bassett.

Nominations are open until 27 June 2014. For more information about the awards and application forms go to: http://www.publiceducationfoundation.org.au/.