Tanya Davies MP. Member for Mulgoa.


Wednesday January 21, 2015

Minister for Women Pru Goward was joined by Member for Mulgoa Tanya Davies to announce Frances Refalo as the 2015 Local Woman of the Year for Mulgoa.


Ms Goward said there were countless outstanding women in NSW and the Local Woman of the Year awards are a chance for the NSW Government and the community to officially recognise the phenomenal contribution they make.


“The Local Woman of the Year awards is something I look forward to each year because we get to share the inspirational journeys of a number of outstanding women in NSW,” Ms Goward said.


“It is the hard and often thankless work of women like Ms Refalo that make not only our communities great places to live, but defines who we are as Australians.”


Local award winners will be invited to join their Member of Parliament at the 2015 NSW Women of the Year award ceremony to be held at Parliament House in March.


Ms Davies said she was proud to nominate Ms Refalo as the Mulgoa 2015 Local Woman of the Year.


“It is truly a privilege to be able to acknowledge the great work in our community of women like Ms Refalo,” Ms Davies said.


“I am also pleased the Minister has come to Western Sydney to recognise Ms Refalo for her voluntary work within the community.”


“I am astounded that I have been recognised for this award. I feel so honoured and appreciative just to have been considered for this award and to have the Minister for Women come all the way out here to western Sydney to personally present this to me has left me speechless. Thank you so much” said Frances Refalo on receiving the award today.


Frances Refalo has dedicated the last 15 years of her personal life as a very active volunteer supporting her local football community. She has performed in a number of official roles, many simultaneously, culminating in her successful election last November as the new President of the Nepean Football Association (NFA). The NFA governs 32 football clubs in the Nepean District with over 11,000 registered players and officials.


Frances is the first woman to be elected President of the Association since it was founded 54 years ago in 1961.


From 1999-2005 Frances held various management committee positions of Glenmore Park Football Club, including the role of Secretary, Competition Secretary, Registrar and Women’s Co-ordinator.


In 2003 Frances was elected onto the board of the NFA and has held various positions over the last 11 years, including Women’s coordinator, Treasurer and now as President of the Association.


In 2008, Frances joined the coaching ranks of the Nepean Dragons, a Sub-Committee of the NFA, which provides football activities to children and adults with special needs, imparting the joys of football to both players and their families.


Throughout these last 15 years Frances has also volunteered as a team coach, manager and club referee and still finds time to play as a registered player as well.


Frances is a role model volunteer in her local community and is to be commended for her unwavering devotion, dedication and sacrifice to support her community in the field of football.


For more information on the NSW Women of the Year awards visit www.women.nsw.gov.au