Tanya Davies MP. Member for Mulgoa.


Monday August 7, 2017

Member for Mulgoa, Tanya Davies MP, has announced nominations are open for the NSW Carers Awards.


The NSW Carers Awards aims to recognise and raise awareness of the valuable contribution unpaid carers make to the people they care for and the wider community.


 “This is a great way to thank and acknowledge the significant contributions carers make to the Mulgoa community,” Tanya Davies said.


“I encourage anyone who knows a dedicated carer in the Mulgoa area to put fourth their nomination so their extraordinary contribution can be celebrated.”


Organisations, employers and education providers who demonstrate best practice in supporting carers can also be nominated for an Award.


The 2017 NSW Carers Awards will coincide with this year’s Carers Week, which will run from 15 - 21 October 2017.


“There are approximately 905,000 carers in NSW, who provide unconditional support for those in their care on a daily basis,” Tanya Davies said.


“This is a great opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate the significant contributions of carers across NSW.”


Up to 10 awards will be presented during the award ceremony, including the 2017 NSW Carer of the Year.


To nominate a carer go to careforacarer.nsw.gov.au. Entries close on 31 August 2017.


Media: Angela Maltese (02) 9834 2966