Tanya Davies MP. Member for Mulgoa.


Wednesday May 6, 2015

Tanya Davies MP, State Member for Mulgoa today called on the community to nominate outstanding local nurses and midwives for the 2015 Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards.


“The calling of nominations for these awards on the eve of International Nurses Day to be celebrated next Tuesday, 12 May 2015, couldn’t come at a better time - falling on the birthday of the world’s most famous nurse, Florence Nightingale” said Tanya Davies.


“It’s a great way to recognise the hard work and dedication of our state’s nurses and midwives” Tanya Davies said.


“If you work with, have been cared for or know of an exceptional nurse or midwife, please nominate them - they deserve to be recognised for what they do for our community” Tanya Davies said.


The third annual Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards will be presented in the following categories:

  • Judith Meppem Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Excellence in Nursing - Registered Nurse
  • Excellence in Midwifery
  • Excellence in Nursing - Enrolled Nurse
  • Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery - Assistant in Nursing / Assistant in Midwifery
  • Excellence in Leadership
  • Excellence in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Care
  • Excellence in Innovation in Education
  • Excellence in Innovation in Research
  • Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery - Graduate (recognising Registered Nurses, Registered Midwives and Enrolled Nurses who completed their first year of practice in 2014)
  • Consumer Appreciation Award


Health Minister Jillian Skinner said the NSW Liberals & Nationals Government created the awards to highlight the incredible work of the 48,000 nurses and midwives who work in the state’s public health system.


“I encourage community members, patients, colleagues and professionals to nominate nurses and midwives who demonstrate excellence and make a difference to the lives of their patients,” Mrs Skinner said.



Nominations open today and close on June 10. To nominate, go to: http://www.nursingmidwiferyawards.health.nsw.gov.au