Tanya Davies MP. Member for Mulgoa.

NSW Government Announces $127,000 For Mulgoa's Heritage

Wednesday October 30, 2013

The heritage of Mulgoa will benefit from a grant of $127,000 awarded through the NSW Government’s Heritage Grants program, Heritage Minister Robyn Parker and Mulgoa MP Tanya Davies announced today.

Ms Parker said the grant is just one of 40 being awarded to new heritage projects today by the NSW Government, totalling more than $2 million.

“The NSW Government recognises the important role that our State’s diverse heritage plays in creating a shared understanding of our cultural history and providing interesting and unique drawcards to our towns and cities,” Ms Parker said.

These grants will allow communities to take a hands-on approach to conserving important heritage places as an investment for future generations.

Today’s grants are expected to lead to tourism and employment opportunities, particularly in rural and regional communities.

Tanya Davies welcomed the $127,000 grant which has been awarded through the Major Works Program to the Sydney Anglican Schools Corporation to undertake essential conservation works to the sandstone exterior of the State Heritage Register-listed St Thomas Anglican Church, Mulgoa.

“The Major Works Program is the flagship program for NSW Heritage Grants; it assists owners and managers of State Heritage Register-listed items to conserve, restore and reuse their heritage properties,” Tanya Davies said.   

The St. Thomas’ site was originally granted to the Anglican Church in 1831 by William Cox for use as a church and school.

“It is one of the most beautiful rural church settings in NSW, and has significance both for its superb landscape value and for the intactness of the church.” Tanya Davies said

The surrounding church yard has a picturesque graveyard of clustered headstones and notable classical sandstone monuments, predominantly of the pastoralist Cox family.

The NSW Heritage Grants program is designed to provide direct financial assistance to private owners, councils and community based organisations to maintain and improve their heritage assets. 

The NSW Government is committed to conserving, revitalising and caring for places of heritage significance.