Tanya Davies MP. Member for Mulgoa.


Friday May 12, 2017

Member for Mulgoa, Tanya Davies MP is encouraging local residents to acknowledge the efforts of community members who give their time to help others, by nominating them for the Premier’s Volunteer Recognition Program.


Nominations for the program were opened on Wednesday 10 May at Parliament House by the Minister responsible for volunteering, Ray Williams.


Tanya Davies said the contributions of local volunteers to the Mulgoa community cannot be overstated.


“Day in and day out, local residents from school students to grandparents are tirelessly working to strengthen the fabric of our community by lending a hand to those who need it,” Tanya Davies said.


“I encourage residents to recognise a local who gives their time to help others by nominating them for the Premier’s Volunteer Recognition Program.”


Categories for the program include student volunteers, people who have made a significant volunteering effort, retired volunteers, people with more than 25 years of volunteering experience and people who have been volunteers for more than 40 years.

Minister Williams said the program acknowledges the efforts of everyday citizens throughout the state.


“People who volunteer are happier, healthier and more connected to their communities,” he said.


Over 2.1 million people volunteer in NSW, contributing 240 million hours of their time, and adding an estimated $5 billion of value each year. The Premier’s Volunteer Recognition Program celebrates the importance of volunteering and has recognised the hard work of more than 14,000 volunteers across NSW.

To nominate a volunteer for the Premier’s Volunteer Recognition Program or for more information about volunteering in NSW please visit www.volunteering.nsw.gov.au.