Tanya Davies MP. Member for Mulgoa.


Monday June 22, 2015

Member for Mulgoa Tanya Davies has encouraged individuals, schools, communities and businesses to apply for the 2015 Resilient Australia Awards and the NSW Get Ready Community Award.

The Resilient Australia Awards is a national program to recognise and promote initiatives that strengthen community safety and resilience across the nation.

This year, the NSW Government has introduced the Get Ready Community Award to recognise a local group which has helped their community prepare or recover from a natural disaster.

Tanya Davies said that the Resilient Australia Awards provide an opportunity to showcase the outstanding work that is being done across NSW to strengthen communities after natural disasters.

"Communities across the State have faced catastrophic losses caused by disasters which can have significant physical, emotional and economic repercussions. These devastating emergencies affect the lives of many people and cause millions of dollars in property and infrastructure damage," Tanya Davies said.

Now in its 16th year the, Resilient Australia Awards is an opportunity to not only say thank you but to recognise and support the great work being done.


“This amazing work is selflessly carried out by so many in our community and these awards are a great opportunity to honour these silent heroes,” Tanya Davies said. 

The Resilient Australia Awards is an initiative of the NSW and Australian governments and are open to individuals, not for profit organisations, small and large businesses, government, schools, and emergency service agencies.

The winners of the NSW event will be finalists in the national awards.

Entries for the Resilient Australia Awards and the NSW Get Ready Community Award will be accepted until midnight 9 August 2015. Further information about the Awards and how to enter can be found at www.emergency.nsw.gov.au



Media Contact: (02) 9833 2913