Tanya Davies MP. Member for Mulgoa.


Monday May 18, 2015

Member for Mulgoa, Tanya Davies MP, has called for nominations for the NSW Carers Awards 2015 and asked the local community to nominate outstanding unpaid carers and carer-friendly organisations they know.

The NSW Carers Awards 2015 are an opportunity to celebrate the dedication, commitment and valuable contributions of unpaid carers in Mulgoa and across NSW.

Tanya Davies encouraged everyone in her electorate to nominate an unpaid carer or organisation so they receive the acknowledgement and appreciation they deserve.

“Carers provide many vital hours of unpaid support to members of our community, improving their lives and saving Australian taxpayers an estimated $40 billion in formal care costs annually,” Tanya Davies said. 

One in 10 people in NSW dedicate their time to caring for someone who needs care because of disability, mental illness, a chronic health condition, dementia or ageing.

“This amazing role is selflessly played by so many in our community and this is a great time to honour these silent heroes” Tanya Davies said. 

Nominating a carer for the NSW Carer’s Awards is a unique way of saying thank you and let local carers and organisations that go above and beyond know they are truly valued.

Nominations can be made in the following categories:


Carers Award - Individual

  • For individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to caring.


Carers Award – Organisation

  • For community groups, government agencies, or other organisations who provide exceptional support to carers.


This year, up to 55 awards are available for individuals and organisations to be honoured during Carers Week, which runs from Sunday 11 – Saturday 17 October 2015.


Nominations for the NSW Carers Awards 2015 close on Monday 29 June at 5.00pm and can be made online at www.facs.nsw.gov.au/carersawards.


The 2015 NSW Carer of the Year will be announced at a ceremony at Parliament House on Monday 12 October 2015.